New sun conure

jourdy

Aug 15, 2011
Got him/her 2 days ago. Born July 5, 2011. He is exactly 6 weeks old now.
I have experience with tiels, budgies, finches, and african lovebirds before, but I am new to sun conures. Maybe people would like to share firsthand advice?

Does anyone know of any useful links or books for further reading?

Very friendly with humans. He/she is cautious of our dogs though. He doesnt seem to mind them but one time he nipped my dog's nose haha.

I have handfed tiels and lovebirds before, at intervals of 3 hours, even in the early morning. The breeder i got him from told me the sun conure needs to be fed only 3x a day and no need in the early morning (12mn - 6am). Is this true?

Thank you.

Some pictures:

DSC03991.jpg

DSC04023.jpg

DSC04017.jpg

Remy

Jul 13, 2011
California
Parrots
Darcy (Golden-Collared Macaw), Puck (Caique - RIP)
Awwww, all those little baby feathers are sooooooo cute!

OP
J

jourdy

Aug 15, 2011
Thanks for the compliments!

He/She is unnamed yet so I will be calling him/her a unisex name - Cali (short for Caliente).

Cali is being fed 5x a day with about 6-12CC of formula per feeding. Is this enough?

Also, Cali seems to be very used to handling. I can scratch his chin/head/rump/whatever and seems to enjoy it. Even if I stretch his/her wings and rub beneath it, Cali seems to be enjoying. I wonder if that's normal... I once had a female Tiel who was very very close to me. Yet she didn't like being handled on the wings and rump.

I plan on updating this thread until Cali is weaned.

Here are Cali's parents:
PAm2c.jpg

More pics:
hu65G.jpg

fHGtn.jpg

melinda

Aug 10, 2011
TN
Parrots
5 year old cockatoo Chloe and 3 year old sun conure Joe Joe
Khloe 15 year old orange wing amazon