New to Amazons a little help needed please :)

Huskytalbain

Jun 30, 2013
Hi, I'm new to this site and new to keeping Amazons. I have recently acquired an orange winged Amazon. I got him/her just over a week ago (I call him Max, he responds quite well to this hehe) He's currently just over 15 weeks old and still having baby formula. I am new to weaning as well as Max. The guy I got him from just told me to feed him "a few times a day" I have searched the net for something but never found any decent information. I'm not sure when his weaning stage will end or if I'm doing the right things.
I feed him when he calls to me which is about 3 to 4 times a day. Other than that the guy told me nothing else. I have some parrot mix which I place out for Max every day and show him where it is and he will occasionally pick at it/play with it and even eat some of it. He has it also in his cage and fresh water everyday which I've never seen him touch.
I'm worried he isn't getting enough nutrients/water to sustain him daily. I would like to know if I can get some baby food jars and try some of these with him as they have veg/fruit in them. I know which foods to avoid with him like avocado, chocolate and a few others.
Sorry for the rant and long message, just a very concerned mother who loves her Max dearly and wants the best for him :)
Any more info would but greatly appreciated.

JerseyWendy

Jul 20, 2012
Firstly, WELCOME to the forum, and congratulations on your Max. :)

At 15 weeks, Max should be down to one hand feeding per day. Do you have a gram scale? In order to sufficiently feed Max, you need his accurate weight. Weigh him in the morning, before he eats, and keep track on his weight. He should eat about 10-12% of his body weight. For example if he weighs 500g, he should eat 50g/ml of mixed hand feeding formula at EACH feeding.