New to the forum and new to conure ownership

let1it9be

Jun 14, 2012
Long Island NY
Parrots
Green Cheek Conure
Hey everyone! I am new to the forum and just thought I would share. I am new to bird ownership. Growing up, I always loved animals. We currently have 3 dogs, 2 cats, a ferret and a crested gecko at my house(not counting the fish). Me and my boyfriend have 3 bunnies, 2 rats, a bearded dragon and we just got a baby green cheek conure. We have had him for about 4 days now and he is already so loved! He loves to be held and he is already getting over the nippy phase. He is getting pretty good at stepping up. The first day he was being a little nippy and clamping down on our fingernails but 3 days later and he is so much better.

He is currently eating a lovebird/conure seed mix but I want to get him on something healthier. I have noticed that he loves the sunflower seeds and I know that isnt the greatest for him. What have you all had luck with? What are some foods you like? Dont like?

Also, treats. What do you use for treats? I have been using the lafebers nutriberries and he loves it. He loves eating the cranberry pieces out of it.

I work at a pet store and we sell fruitables for dogs and they are pumpkin and cranberry flavor. These are the ingredients. Would this be okay to give him? I feel like he would like it because it has cranberries in it.
Pumpkin & Cranberry Ingredients: Pumpkin, Organic Oatmeal, Pearled Barley, Potatoes, Oat Fiber, Canola Oil (preserved with Tocopherols), Brown Sugar, Cranberries, Cinnamon, and Vanilla.

Any additional information would be greatly appreciated because I am new to green cheek conure ownership.

Oh and by the way, we FINALLY decided on a name. After having him for three days and calling him birdy, we decided on a name. We arent sure if he is a boy or a girl but we are calling him a "him" and we named him Yoshi :)

cdog

Feb 20, 2012
Newbury Park, CA
Parrots
Sully-2 year old cinnamon and Bella-3 year old normal