Newbie here and to the world of Parrots!

waltersmum

Jun 3, 2012
Brisbane Australia
Hi

I am now the proud owner of a green Cheek Corune.I am now to the world of bird ownership and have been doing some internet research. I'm sorry if my question has been answered a thousand times over :)

Walter is 3 months old and has been handraised. We got him today. we have had a few bites but not many.

I am trying to train him to step on and step off. He will go on my finger only if he is offered a treat. (I have tried a stick but he just runs up it and onto my shoulder which herein lies the problem)

So he steps on and takes the treat and runs upto my shoulder. I cannot then get him down. I can coaxed him down but he wont then get off.

I then have to try and grab him off my shoulder which is hard when he is doing circuits of my neck tryng to avoid my hand. Then when i do get him it is a performance detangling his claws!!

Any tips would be greatly appreciated in particular getting him off my hand and also preventing him from legging it up my arm!

Thanks

Bex:green2:

greycloud

Mar 21, 2010
Baltimore, MD
Parrots
Sammy-Umbrella Too-rescued,
Dexter-CAG-rehomed handicapped,
Sterling-CAG-rehomed retired breeder.
Sunshine-12 yo CAG-adopted
Welcome to the forum Bex! Congrats on your new baby! GCCs are great little birds. First, remember he is in a new place, new people, new sounds and smells. He is going to be a bit nervous. You will be spending time building a bond with him. GCCs tend to go through nippy periods as they mature, just for future reference. Right now the nipping is because he is unsure of you and does not trust you yet.
Some birds are afraid of stepping up on perches and some afraid to stepp up on hands. It will take time to teach him all is OK.
First it is great that he steps up when offered a treat. This is called positive reinforcement. You are rewarding him for something you are asking him to do. It is the best way to train a bird.