Odd Question

Talons

Aug 13, 2012
Alright, maybe not that odd.
You see, I don't own an African Grey, but I'd really like to, and I've done research out the wazoo. (About many species, actually.)

I'm basically a beginner to birds. I think an African Grey would be a bit much, but I met one 3 years ago and haven't been able to shake my admiration. I've researched many other kinds of parrots, mainly pionus, poicephalus, cockatiels and conures, but alas I find none quite compare in my eyes.

Also, a friend of my sister's once told me, upon my asking what kind of bird is suitable for a beginner (budgies, cockatiels, conures, right?) that I should just get the bird I wanted as long as I can properly care for it because with all birds you learn the same things from them and the only difference is that some are more intimidating, bite harder, and vary in attention requirements. I find that hard to believe...

I've come to realize greys are quite pricey (as most parrots are :)) and it seems as though they are very touchy and high maintenance.
Is this true?
I've also heard that greys can have a special "connection" with their owners that other parrots do not. I don't believe this at all, but I would like to know if smaller parrots such as conures, cockatiels and lovebirds bond with you on the same level.

Please share your thoughts and if you will, suggest different species.
:yellow2::green1::orange::grey:

tab_xo

Aug 9, 2012
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
Fargo- Blue and Gold Macaw
I use to have a quaker parrot who recently passed away. but he bonded to me so much! we were inseparable and he was a very quick learner and loved to give kisses! :)

PortaPerch

Apr 28, 2012
SurfCity, SoCalif
Parrots
Chewbaca, F. Galah, h10/10;
Greybeard, M. Congo AG h03/09
There's something special about a bird that can make relevant conversation.