Pulling out pin feathers and screaming - Advice much appreciated!

Ozzythemacaw

Oct 13, 2020
Hi everyone,

Newbie here. Before I begin I just want to say how grateful I am that you are reading this. I am just about at my wits end with my 4 year old female Hahns Macaw, Ozzy (named before she was sexed!). I adore her - we have a very close bond, and I spare no expense on her despite earning minimum wage! I have know her since she was 4 months old and helped hand raise her. I would love some fresh eyes over a problem that's causing extreme stress in regards to her.

Last August, our dog passed away suddenly getting his teeth cleaned under general anesthetic. 2 days later, Ozzy spent 3 weeks barbering off most of her feathers apart from tail and wing feathers. I took her to the vet, she had a full blood count which all came back perfect apart from slightly low calcium (she now has a supplement in her diet). I was sent away with a calming drug and a pain killer for pin feathers as we wondered if it was stress from moulting as well as the atmosphere in the house. I struggled to medicate her - hated towelling her, so I left it and decided to just see how it goes.

By November all her feathers had grown back, she had bitten off a few of the new ones on her chest but hardly noticeable really. Everything was fine apart from the odd bitten off feather up until March this year. She started pulling out down feathers under her wing and screaming as she did it. She then rolled them up in her beak and spat them out. As she began to moult she began to pull out pin feathers as she was preening, screaming in pain as she does it. This had been going on all through lockdown, and as things eased I decided to take her to the avian vet again. Her faecal test was clear, bloods clear, zinc toxicity clear. My vet asked me to try the medication again. I tried for about a week but didn't notice any difference and felt awful shoving it in her beak, she absolutely hated it.