Rosella with reversed toe

vellad

May 29, 2013
Parrots
Rosella
Hi and good morning :),

I am a newbie - this is my first ever parrot.

Last week I got a 4 week Rosella chick that I am handfeeding - it's going really great and today he did his first couple of test-flights :) he flew towards me across the room and one time he actually landed on my shoulder! :) So i think that's good :)

However - I a bit concerned because the day after I got him I realized that one of his rear toes (the ring leg) is pointing forward. It's the same color as the other fingers so I assume that there is circulation etc.

He can walk no problem and he can also perch (on perch it still points forward). The thing is that when he tries to perch he sometimes takes time to grip and i'm not sure if it's due to pain or if it's because he is still young so still finding his balance. He only started perching yesterday. He can climb ok no problem.

I am thinking that maybe something happened when the breeder was putting the ring on.

Are there any suggestions on what I can do? I will be talking to the VET (that I take my dog to) - thing is that where I live I seriously doubt that these exist Avian VETS (specialized).

I have some photos (below) showing the problem toe and the actual bird!!

Thanks Guys.

2hxepuv.png

xk7btAv.png

weco

Nov 24, 2010
USA
Parrots
Nanday, suns, parrotlet, Patagonian
When hatched, a parrot's toes are ....., like most birds, three toes forward & one rearward, but shortly after hatching, the outer tow on each foot turns rearward, giving our feathered friends zygodactyl feet, two toes forward & two toes rearward facing.....

While your bird's outside toe did rotate, the inner one (which should be pointing rearward) looks like it was either broken or could possibly have been a deformity, notice how the inner front toe is lying slightly sideways.....while an X-ray might confirm an old break, I doubt there is anything that could be done to correct the situation.....