shy timneh

geneisgod

Feb 11, 2011
This is my first post on here. I just got a 18 month old timneh grey. I have some experience with quakers before but this is my first grey. I havent had any biting issues but he is very scared of us... he is a little more comfortable with my wife than me. He will take treats out of both our hands but he is a lot more cautious with me... he will get just close enough to take it then goes back to the other side of the cage. what can i do to help him feel more comfortable with me? we have been trying to get him to step up but he doesnt want anything to do with that unless hes on the floor... we talk to him all the time and feed him treats, ive been putting my arm on his cage and getting him to take the treat off it hoping that will help him get used to it and step up on it... any training tips that will help me out?

Von1983

Banned
Banned
Sep 3, 2010
Media
The only tip I can give you is PATIENCE!

You both sound like you're doing really well if he is accepting treats etc.

Please remember he has been taken from his original home and everything is new. Greys are known to be one person birds (not always the case, obviously, but they certainly pick their favourite human like all birds) and it may be that your bird has already picked your wife. This does not mean you cannot get to be great friends too though.

You must remember the bonding process requires a lot of hard work and understanding from you. You cannot rush this. Parrot's are not like other pets like cat's and dog's. Things need to be on their terms initially. If he backs off...you do the same. He will come to respect you and appreciate that you are respecting him and entering his world.

Good luck!

Spiritbird

Banned
Banned
Aug 20, 2009
Media
Hello and welcome. I too have a wonderful timmie named Rosie.