Sounds Budgies/Parakeets make????

Chelle

Aug 5, 2013
Parrots
CHEESECAKE (Pineapple~GCC) 2/4/14
Ok... I am fairly new to budgies/Parakeets. I love the way they sing! But they also make this other noise that I am not quite certain what it means. Here goes me trying to describe the sound....lol. It sounds like a cricket but much louder and fast. any ideas what this noise is called and does it mean they are upset for some reason?

Sterling1113

Feb 15, 2014
Dallas area, Texas
If it's the same sound I'm thinking of, it's just the usual sound for budgies/parakeets. :)
I've had budgies before and they have a sort of distinct sound they make, sort of like a high-pitched rumbling or something. Just generic, unidentifiable chattering heh.

Kalidasa

May 8, 2013
Media
Michigan
Parrots
1 green cheek conure (Kumar)
2 male budgies (Charlie and Diego)
I love their voices also. When they're mad they make a game-show buzzer sound. One of my budgies can perfectly mimic a sparrow, and my other one makes a soft cooing sound like a dove when he gets excited about something. The cricketey sound is their normal chirp. The game-show buzzer sound means someone's mad or jealous :) after my budgies eat in the morning and make their usual rounds around the house, they separate and go to different rooms and sing loudly to each other for almost an hour. One in particular has a very beautiful voice, with lots of warbles and trills. He grew up around lots of canaries and lived there for a few years before I got him. He also is the one who mimics sparrows, so there's a wide variety of budgie chatter and song in my house all day every day :) I love every second of it.

Last edited:

MonicaMc

Sep 12, 2012
Media
Parrots
Mitred Conure - Charlie 1994;
Cockatiel - Casey 2001;
Wild Caught ARN - Sylphie 2013