what do you think about this food!?

Enjru

Banned
Banned
Feb 19, 2012
Sydney, Australia
Parrots
1 x Scarlet Macaw, 2 x DYHA's
i have no experience with this food, but my thoughts about it, from reading the list of ingredients, etc, on the lafeber's website, are:

A Couple Of Concerns: i) Macaws and cockatoos have rather different nutritional requirements, especially when it comes to fat and Vitamin D3 requirements. Why is the macaw pellet the same as the cockatoo pellet?!? ii) The list of ingredients is short, but the list of added vitamins and supplements is long. I'm not sure if adding vitamin powder supplements to a starch and protein base is the best way to go. Personally, I'd like to see a much longer list of ingredients including plenty of vegetables and fruits in addition to a starch and protein base, because there are a LOT of beneficial micronutrients from a wide variety of foods that just can't be added to a formula as a powder from a plastic bag.

Overall, I think this food will be well worth trying.

One thing for you to note, is that this pellet is not extruded, so its texture is likely to be quite crumbly. Your scarlet macaw and you will have to decide whether this suits the two of you in terms of beak feel, messiness and wastage.

roxynoodle

Dec 1, 2011
My vet is one of their nutritional consultants. I already know she would say it was a good diet for your bird.

JJones1719

Mar 9, 2011
Media
MD
Parrots
7 Year old SI Eclectus named Guapo, I have a 6 year old GW Macaw named Neleno
I would advise you to try Zupreme pellets for your Macaw or Pretty boy pellets. both have the nutrition that Macaws need for their everyday diet. Please also keep in mind that Macaws also need fresh fruit and veggies. Thanks Joe

cd4565

Jun 20, 2009
New York
Parrots
"Bell" tiel-"JJ" African Red Belly-"Jackson" Mealy Zon-"Huey" GWM