Wing feathers?

friskytiger

Banned
Banned
Aug 17, 2014
Media
Spring Branch Texas
Parrots
A Mitred Conure by the name of Conner owns me (Clyde) & my wife (Candi).
I'm sorry if I'm out of line posting new thread, I'm new to this and couldn't find where to ask for sure.
Conner is now supposedly aprox. 6months old, he has had us going on 3 of those months. His front lower folded wing tips are greyish downy soft and always have been. Hopefully photo shows what I'm asking about, is this a normal thing? Conner is the 1st and only Mitred, not to mention 1st Conure I've ever seen & have.

Attachments

• IMG_20140817_101735100_HDR[1].jpg
    IMG_20140817_101735100_HDR[1].jpg
    93.7 KB · Views: 184
  • IMG_20140817_101722655_HDR[1].jpg
    IMG_20140817_101722655_HDR[1].jpg
    99.9 KB · Views: 149
Last edited:

MrsKay

Jun 23, 2014
Media
Southern California
Parrots
Green Cheek Conure (Larry)
Canary (Norman)
I'm sorry, I'm not sure what you are asking? Hopefully someone will see this and chime in :)
He looks OK to me, but I'm not experienced enough to know for sure.
Keep him on a good variable diet for sure.

samhatch

Aug 17, 2014
British Columbia, Canada
Parrots
♥ 4 Tiels - Karson, Kai, Savvy and Cojo & 1 GCC - Raeden ♥
I agree with MrsKay... she seems to look healthy and the wings look normal but a photo can be hard to tell. :)

Dinosrawr

Aug 15, 2013
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Parrots
Avery, a GCC born on March 5th, 2013 & Shiko, a blue IRN born on February 25th, 2014
I think the only way we could fully understand what you're asking about is to see his wing fully extended. Other wise the feathers look quite healthy and lovely to me! Sometimes when birds open and flap their wings around feathers can become displaced, but the bird will generally correct it with some relaxing preening sessions :)