2 New 5 month old cockatiels - advice welcome :)

shauna12

May 7, 2020
Parrots
2 cockatiels (M&F)under 1 year
Hi everyone! I'm new to this so all advice is welcome!
Today I got my 2 5 month old cockatiels Milly & Billy! They seem to be settling well, eating, drinking, preeningand have chirped a little too!

At first they both went into the corner when I went near the cage so I left them to settle, now they are still wary but seem a lot happier!

I was just wondering if anyone had any ideas on when I would be able to let them out and get some excersize? or transfer them to a bigger cage. The person I got them off said they were semi tamed, but being naive and after watching lots of videos I didn't think to ask questions.

I was just wondering if anyone could offer any advice on this, there's lots of conflicting info online and I want to be sure i'm doing the right thing for them :)

itzjbean

Jan 27, 2017
Media
Iowa, USA
Parrots
2 cockatiels
Hello and welcome! I love cockatiels and breed them.

We would love pictures!

Are you sure they are male and female? Do you know if they are related? I ask this because at 5 months old they are just beginning to start maturing and in so may look to start mating. If they are indeed male and female siblings, this is a no-no!

They'll likely need separate cages if they are siblings / if you don't want them to pair.

The thing about getting 2 birds at once is, they will likely bond more to each other than with you if they are not tame right now. This means they'll likely prefer the company of each other or other birds over humans. This is common for semi-tame or not tame birds. It is possible to tame them but you will likely have to work patiently to earn their trust.

Highly recommend you read this thread: Tips for Bonding and Building Trust

OP
S

shauna12

May 7, 2020
Parrots
Hi Jackie and clan ! thank you for your reply it's really appreciated!