Any help would be great please

Superlotto

Jan 10, 2023
Parrots
pineapple conure
Abit of a long one so bare with me.

Im completely new to having a bird. Coco is a pineapple conure. We wasnt planning on getting a bird but a woman across the way couldnt cope and said she was just going to let him out the window so i said id take him in cos i couldnt bare the thought of that happening.
He was a really good bird, i gave him proper food and fruit etc (he come with budgie food 🙈) i dont think he is very old maybe 2 years, maybe 18 months. He is pretty tame, talks, sings and dances. Fast forward 8 months and he is now very naughty, im not sure where we have gone wrong or what to do.
All started about 4 weeks ago, he stopped stepping up to me or letting me stroke his head, He screams/shreaks really loud for ages. Ive tried ignoring him, covering him if its late on a night thinking he might just want bed time. He comes out when we are home on a night from work, he always been good out the cage but since this shreaking (about 3 or 4 weeks) he attacks, bites, gets very aggressive. He draws blood and just screams at us.
Im due a baby in march and tbh at my whits end cos i really dont know what to do with him :( ive seen about getting new toys etc can help so on weekend im going to go out and see what new bits i can see. I suppose this is just abit of a cry for help from people who are more experienced. i just dont know what to do. I feel like ive let him down or something cos he seems all of a sudden unhappy but nothing has really changed in the house or our routine. House was a little busier due to xmas but he has always been abit of a showoff when we have people round. Any advice would be great thankyou

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots
Yellow Shoulder Amazon, Salty