Assistance required with two macaws feather plucking

s.milner63

Sep 25, 2014
I am a volunteer at a safari park & zoo located in Thailand (ref volunteer for more about this program) and I have taken on the role as team leader for the macaws as there simply wasn't anyone else who could or would.

The person who started the program (prior to this was one of the local Thai workers and the care given wasn't anywhere near what is now) has moved on and left me with some resources and a decent program to follow however I have no experience.

We have two Macaws (out of 36 in total) who have been placed into a reasonable size aviary/cage as they have lost quite a lot of feathers. They follow each other around however we would obviously like to improve their situation and are not sure what to do next. We can either split them up by having one located in a smaller rear section so they will be close to each other but not together, remove one entirely from the area, place a different Macaw (there are 35 in total here) in there making 3 in total or swapping with one, or do something completely different.

What would you recommend to do as a next step if you were in my position?

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Steve Milner

getwozzy

Feb 26, 2013
Oregon
Have the two had any vet work done recently? Plucking can be caused from stress, they may be plucking each other, or it may be a medical/diet issue.

Have you observed them to see if they're plucking themselves, or each other??

What is their diet?

weco

Nov 24, 2010
USA
Parrots
Nanday, suns, parrotlet, Patagonian
By vet work done, it is always best that it be done by avian experienced veterinarians and you being a zoo facility I'm sure your resident veterinarian is avian qualified, however feather plucking is a very subjective subject, with there usually being more questions than answers.....