Goddog_3_75

Dec 21, 2023
Parrots
Blue and Gold Macaw
Hello all,
Very excited to introduce myself as a brand new baby macaw owner. Yesterday my fiance and I bought a 5 month old baby B&G. He (Barry) is so precious, he is an absolute love bug! We are so happy, we have both wanted a parrot since we were small children! We recently bought our forever home and we are adding our forever bird to the house!

A little bit about me, I am an Army Veteran, I own a business with my brother and father in northeast Ohio. I have an extensive background in all things aviary. My grandmother introduced me to my love for birds when I was a child and it has only grown since! I have spent a long time volunteering at a bird rehab and rescue center. We specialized in birds of prey specifically, but also had the occasional parrot and song birds come through our facility. Again I have dreamt of the day I would own my own parrot (always wanted a B&G specifically), and here I am! Words cant describe my happiness.

We are moving into our home next week, and the day after we move in and everything is settled we will go pick Barry up and bring him home!

I am building him a huge 10x12 indoor flight cage to be in while I work during the day, and I plan on training him to my absolute best ability!

I guess I have few questions for you all;

What are the best training guides out there, is it Barbara Heidenreich? I have read alot of poor reviews on BirdTricks so they are basically off my radar. I want to make sure that I instill the best possible training from day 1 when I bring him home, I want to purchase and study all the material I can during the next week on Baby Macaws and their initial days in the house.

Dont mistake my above statement as me not doing research on this bird, because I have been researching studying and dreaming of this day for decades. I consider myself to have a WEALTH of knowledge on Macaws, I just have no experience raising one from 5 a baby.