Best species for me?

glutes

Feb 11, 2016
Hi, I know I have a less recent post that is somewhat similar to this one, but this one is a bit different so I wanted to start a new thread.

I want to adopt a parrot in the next 6-12 months. I am a 16 year old female. I have many reptiles so I have some experience with exotic animals, but no experience with birds. I do go to petstores frequently and visit with the birds there though. I have been researching a lot on parrot behavior, and he care requirements for each species. Right now I am still in high school, so I will have 2-5 hours of interaction time daily depending on the day. This amount of time does not include caring for and cleaning up after the bird. While I have a decent amount of time to give to a bird right now, in the future I will have to get a full time job(8 hours) which means I would likely be limited to 1-3 hours of interaction time with more time on the weekends. I am looking for a bird that can play independently for somewhat long periods of time as well as an affectionate bird. I know that being young and having limited time can make bird ownership difficult, but I'm determined to make it work. I don't plan on going to colleges or giving any of my pets up. Pets are family and I will adjust my life to include them just as they do for me.

That being said, what are some species that would suit me? I am looking into Pionus parrots because from what I've read they actually need independent play in their life. I also like the personality of a Pionus. Gentle, quiet(as a parrot can be, anyways) and affectionate. I've looked at budgies as well but from the research I've done on them they don't like much if any touching. Another species I've looked at is the green cheeked conure. The one thing that turns me away about conures is their desire to be around the activity of a home. My house doesn't have much activity right now and certainly won't when I move out and live on my own. I'd love to hear your input!