Breakfast & Dinner portions

Fiwi

Feb 26, 2012
Maryland
Parrots
5 YO Red Sided Eclectus
I'm still learning which foods Emmett likes and dislikes. It seems he throws a lot out of his bowl and some is left uneaten. I offer a combination of fresh fruits & vegetables mixed with something such as cooked oatmeal or wild rice.

What size portions do you feed your Eclectus?

OP
Fiwi

Fiwi

Feb 26, 2012
Maryland
Parrots
5 YO Red Sided Eclectus
Sorry, i dont know yet... Just wanted to see how you and emmett are getting along. Did he enjoy his vacation?

Emmett is doing great! We had a fantastic vacation and he even seemed to enjoy the drive -- he was very chatty! I think the Florida sun agreed with him! He came sounding like an osprey!

Remy

Jul 13, 2011
California
Parrots
Darcy (Golden-Collared Macaw), Puck (Caique - RIP)
I don't know about Eclectus's for sure, but I would say to let him eat until he's full!

Pedro

Dec 15, 2010
Australia
Parrots
2 Budgies, 3 Cockatiels, 6 GCC'S, 2 Crimson Bellie Conures, 9 Sun Conures, 2 Major Mitchells, 12 Eclectus parrots of various ages, 2 BF Amazons, 2 Hahn's Macaw's, 1 Red Tail Black Too
I'm still learning which foods Emmett likes and dislikes. It seems he throws a lot out of his bowl and some is left uneaten. I offer a combination of fresh fruits & vegetables mixed with something such as cooked oatmeal or wild rice.

I find if i chop all fruit & veg in small cube size pieces, about the same size as the frozen carrot cubes. I also put my eccies food in a medium ceramic dog bowl on the floor of their cage. I also have to place a newspaper under the bowl so the food doesn't fall through the grate. It does take eccies awhile to learn how to hold their food in their foot to eat.