Guess I'll stop lurking :)

thursnov

Nov 16, 2012
Louisville, KY
Parrots
Buddy - yellow nape amazon
I've been reading this forum for months, but I guess I should stop lurking and become a member. :) I am not new to birds (familiar with finches, lovebrds, cockatiels, conures, and I've worked closely with a grey and cockatoo for many years) but I am new to being owned by a parrot. I have wanted a parrot of my own (instead of loving on everyone else's :)) for years, but wanted to make sure I was ready for a life commitment to a feathered friend. I wanted to wait until I had my own house and make knew what I was getting myself into. It also took me a long time to decide which large parrot was the one for me. After much research and debate, I decided on amazons. My first meeting with my future feathered friend is tonight!

Anyway, I wanted to introduce myself, as I'm sure I will have many questions along the way, and stories to tell. I'm a huge animal lover, work closely in animal rescue, and I'm also a state and federally licensed wildlife rehabber. I work closely with passerines/songbirds, mammals, raptors, and all types of wildlife on a daily basis, but I'm most excited about working with my future amazon baby. :green2:

Brittany

Congrats on your amazon and welcome to the forum ! You'll find that being " owned " by a bird is very amusing ( mostly to the bird lol )

Welcome to the forum. Be sure to take us some pictures. See you in the amazon section.