I have some questions bc I welcomed a baby parrot in my family

Mikotheparrot

Mar 12, 2024
Parrots
Alexandrian Parrot
We brought home a baby parrot who is about 3-4 weeks old. She is probably an alexandrine parrot.
Now there are things I want to ask bc it is my first time having a baby parrot at home.

1. How often should I feed her food? She gets very excited every time she sees some food and I stop giving her food when it looks like her crop is filled.

2. I keep giving her water using a syringe almost every 2 hours. Is that okay?

3. I look at the kind of poop she's doing and if it's very watery then I give her less water.

4. She keeps making so much sound whenever I keep her outside. Idk why she does it and as soon as I keep her in her cage she starts biting her pin feathers. She does that grooming thing rarely when she is outside.

5. She sleeps A LOT. Everytime I feed her and keep her in her cage to let her do that grooming thing she does it and then sleeps.
I keep a thin cloth around the cage to give her darkness. Is it normal for baby parrots to sleep a lot?

6. Oh and I am feeding her meshed apples and chikoo and meshed dal and rice.

LaManuka

Staff member
Super Moderator
Aug 29, 2018
Media
Albums
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
Fang ({ab}normal grey cockatiel), Valentino (budgie), Jem (cinnamon cockatiel), Lovejoy(varied lorikeet), Peach (princess parrot)
We brought home a baby parrot who is about 3-4 weeks old. She is probably an alexandrine parrot.
Now there are things I want to ask bc it is my first time having a baby parrot at home.

1. How often should I feed her food? She gets very excited every time she sees some food and I stop giving her food when it looks like her crop is filled.

2. I keep giving her water using a syringe almost every 2 hours. Is that okay?

3. I look at the kind of poop she's doing and if it's very watery then I give her less water.