I need help with my new gcc!!!!

hamzaalajlouni

Jan 25, 2017
so i got 2 green cheek conures a couple of days ago, and they're scared to death from me, if i just look at them they get into their nest box, and when i get close to the cage they start going crazy flying everywhere, the guy that i got them from said that they used to be tamed but after they laid their eggs they started to get aggressive, even though they're not aggressive, they're just scared, can someone please help me, ive searched the whole internet and couldn't find a solution, how can i show them that im not a danger to them,and get them to step up on my finger??? :confused: :( :confused:

Rival_of_the_Rickeybird

2x Parrot of the Month πŸ†
Jul 31, 2016
Ohio
Parrots
None. My wife has one too many. Kidding!
Im no expert but I'll give your thread a boost. My guess is that the knowledgeable folks here will advise you to relax, just let them settle, set a positive casual atmosphere and wait for the good advice you'll get here. You came to the right place.

GaleriaGila

Parrot of the Month πŸ†
May 14, 2016
Cleveland area
Parrots
The Rickeybird, 40-year-old Patagonian Conure
Absolutely agreed. A bonded pair will probably remain primarioly devoted to each other, but they'll learn to relax and interact with you in time. A few days is a nanosecond for a frightened, disoriented pair. I think that you might want to start learning about managing mating behavior... nurtrition, light managememt... I'd certainly recommend that you not allow them to produce chicks at this stage: that's a very complicated process. Please use the SEARCH tab to learn about diet, management... all the stuff you'll want to know But for now...
YES... relax. Let them relax! Move slowly, speak softly, just let them see you are at peace and they can be, too.
I'm glad you're reaching out.

EllenD

Aug 20, 2016
State College, PA
Parrots