New Here :)

Fae88

Oct 10, 2013
Ohio
Parrots
Bruno (male Grey Cockatiel, under a year old)
Hello my name is Samantha. I have owned parrots in the past. I grew up with parakeets in the house, and also a beautiful male lutino cockatiel named "Scooter" who I loved so much.

A few days ago I was talking to a friend I work with about how I would love to have a parrot again. She then mentioned to me that she had a friend looking for a home for a male lovebird she bought on a whim. She asked if I would be interested in him. And though I have no experience with lovebirds I said that I was definitely interested.

My friend at work actually was already given the female lovebird my male was living with. She is my friends first bird ever, and she even asked if things didn't work out would I mind taking the female. I told her of course I would. But I am not 100% sure she is going to want to rehome her. So as of right now I am just in the wait and see stage about the female.

So anyways the next day my friend brought the male to work for me to take home. He is a ADORABLE peach faced Lovebird. I ended up naming him "Skittles" since he has so many colors on him. He came with his cage (I plan to buy him a bigger one in the near future), food, and a couple toys.

I plan to make him a few homemade toys today to entertain him until I get paid at the end of the week. He is a sweet boy. I can't whistle. But when I make kissing noises at him he mimics me and gets as close to me as he possibly can in his cage. I have only had him for about a day and a half and have not put my hand in his cage other than to change out his food/water and remove a grape he wasent interested in. He opens his beak and acts like he will bite but I just ignored him and went about my business.