Some things that helped me with a macaw who hates men

Sunnybirb

Dec 24, 2017
Parrots
Sunny the blue and gold macaw.
I wanted to make a post just about this, since it seems to be a pretty common problem with rescued parrots. I'm no expert, but I wanted to share the things that have been effective and the process itself. Keep in mind, it's been months and months to get here; it didn't happen overnight and takes a lot of patience, but is totally worth it! Most of it is no-brainer stuff, but I know a lot of people here are newer to large parrots like macaws and any information helps.

I'm pretty sure Sunny was abused to some degree. I found out recently that there was a man where she was at that would go after some of the macaws with pliers if they didn't like him. He's fortunately not employed there anymore. I also don't know how many homes she's had (at least two, probably more), or her age, but I do know that she HATES men. There are no exceptions to this rule. Hissing ensues, eye pinning, feather raising, lunging, biting, rubbing her beak along the bars threateningly, and even shaking uncontrollably if they get too close. So you could say her reaction is pretty severe. She will actively try to get at a man if he even steps into the room. I realized how bad it was after I had a few relatives over and she had the same reaction to all the men.

With my friend, she initially despised him. I wouldn't even say that she likes him now, but she puts up with him, and no longer engages in most of the behaviors I mentioned above.

We started by him being in the room. Every time he came in, he would try to feed her a treat. I avoided giving her treats for a few weeks and he exclusively tried to give them to her. At first she wanted nothing to do with him and would attempt to bite him if he put the treat near the bars (we always did this while she was in the cage, since it was the safest for them both). Then he started going in without me, and began using a spoon.