Baby Alexandrine

_Jules_

Oct 10, 2015
Hi all,
I've hand raised a couple of Alex's and one is at fledging/ weaning stage. He has all of a sudden got really active/ loves flying and is really loud! I am trying to find some good information about the developmental stages in parrots (these birds in particular) but all the info I come across skips over the behaviour at fledging/ juvenile stage to explaining about sexual maturity. I'd like to know what kind of behaviour is specific to this age my bird is at and what I can expect will change as he grows. He's beginning to be lots of fun, but he is not interested in taking treats from me yet as he is too busy, so I am thinking any training needs to wait until he is interested in taking rewards from me. Any advice about this stage of alex's or personal experience stories would be greatly appreciated as I am pretty new to parrots.
Thanks!
(I'm also guessing the sex..:) )

OP
J

_Jules_

Oct 10, 2015
Oh, and I am wondering if it's better for me to find a new home for my baby as I am the "Mum" (one has a future home already) and I'm concerned about him 'rejecting' me as he grows and seeks his independence...

Dinosrawr

Aug 15, 2013
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Parrots
Avery, a GCC born on March 5th, 2013 & Shiko, a blue IRN born on February 25th, 2014
I'm no breeding expert, but I don't truly understand why you believe the bird would reject you. The reason a young bird would leave the nest and "reject" its mother is simply because they have innate instincts to avoid breeding behaviour with next of kin in the wild. Once a parent has taught the appropriate survival instincts and the young are self-sufficient, the parents reject their young - if anything - to avoid investing excessive resources or to invest resources into new potential young.