Biting Bird

erlabella

Jan 15, 2018
Media
Faroe Islands
Parrots
2 Budgies, Nacho & Rocky.
Hello :)

So my neighbour has a blue masked lovebird, that bites a lot. They are on a vacation for the weekend and I’m taking care of him/her for them. I have two budgies, so I know about basic bird care, though I’m not a proffesional. I’m having trouble on reading his/her body language and I would like your help.

I don’t know yet what’s causing his/her biting behaviour but I’m guessing it’s either territorial aggression, hormonal issues or fear. He/she chirps a lot (high pitched), especially when I’m in the room. He/she will usually follow me as I’m walking around, climbing on the cage bars, and I don’t know what it means. I offered him/her sunflower seeds through the cage bars and he/she didn’t seem aggressive at all, and ate them straight away. Then I tried offering him/her treats inside his/her cage and he/she acted strange. He/she puffed his/her feathers raised his/her wings a bit (not fully) and bit me. He/she did not lunge at me, but rather bit me (or munched me) a few times (a bit hard). He/she took the treats in my hands, bit me a few times and went back to eating the treats in my hands. I didn’t react in any way, as I’ve read it reinforces the behavior. I talked calmly to him/her and removed my hand slowly away from the cage. I don’t know if I’m doing this right but as I said, I’m not a proffessional.

I’ve seen this behavior in one of my budgies before. Offering him treats and bites me a few times while eating. He is a very nervous and frightful little bird, and I think he bit me because of fear.

I don’t know anything about his/her past, only that the previous owners sold him/her because of aggression. Please help! If anyone knows what this behavior means and how to prevent it feel free to tell me and to ask questions.

OP
E

erlabella

Jan 15, 2018
Media
Faroe Islands
Parrots
I totally forgot to mention that the birds owners have a daughter (around 7 yo).