Cage Help for a Newbie

VJB

May 16, 2016
Hello There

I am a newbie on the forum and hope to be getting my very first Green Cheek Conure. I have alway had budgies nad I have a budgie currently called Scooby :) but I have fallen in love with a three month old Green Cheek that I would like to adopt.

The problem is I am stuck on cage size. I hope that my Conure will be out of the cage and with me the majority of the day as I work from home so do I need to get a really large flight cage?

I was having a look at the Prevue Hendryx but it is really big and my home is fairly small. I was thinking that I need to get something smaller that sits on a work surface if at all possible.

I also want to make sure most importantly though that my Conure will be happy and have lots of toys and perches etc.

Can anyone be so kind as to recommend or suggest some good quality powder coated non toxic bird cages that are not too big that a Conure could be content in that could possibly sit on a work top or a small table perhaps?

Thank you so much for any help and recommendations.

ChristaNL

Banned
Banned
May 23, 2018
NL= the Netherlands, Europe
Parrots
Sunny a female B&G macaw;
Japie (m) & Appie (f), both are congo african grey;
All are rescues- had to leave their previous homes for 'reasons', are still in contact with them :)
Hmpf... you've read the Cages - Parrot Forum - Parrot Owner's Community section and http://www.parrotforums.com/cages/7...gest-cage-you-can-afford-best-rule-thumb.html (and the article it is linked to)?

I am one of those "make sure the bird can at least flap its wings comfortable when in the cage"-people, anything less I consider cruelty.
Flapping their wings is also part of their way of communicating - so let them speak up!

(unless the bird can leave the cage anytime it wants to do so) because sometimes they need/want to really move when we- the people- are not ready for it.