Conure 'vibrating' beak against hand

pixelandmort

Nov 16, 2015
Pennsylvania
Parrots
Nanday Conure
I'm new to having a bird and I had some trouble with Mort (Nanday conure) being aggressive at first, especially towards hands. He's warmed up to me and especially my dad and he has started rubbing his beak against our fingers. He will come up to our bent knuckle and rub the side of his beak against it. He almost vibrates his head up and down pretty fast, and once in awhile he will do it against his favorite rope toy. I just want to make sure this isn't a different aggressive behavior. He doesn't show any other signs of aggression when he does it. Thanks in advance! :green:

Iholm5

Apr 22, 2015
Milwaukee, WI
Parrots
Proud parront to...
Tiki (U2), Zelda (GCC), Bender (Tiel), Pickles (Parrotlet), Pax (IRN), Goku (Sun), Jack (Caique), Moko (Crested Gecko), Goose (Red Lored Amazon)
I wouldn't be overly concerned. My Zelda (GCC) does this a lot, particularly when there's something hard on the side of her beak, like my nails. I think it may have something to do with her beak itching, or it may be some strange grooming stuff. She has done it for years.

Skittys_Daddy

Jan 6, 2014
Lewiston, Maine
Parrots
Neotropical Pigeon - "Skittles" (born 3/29/10)
Cockatiel - "Peaches" (1995-2015) R.I.P.
Budgie - "Sammy"
(1989-2000) R.I.P.
Budgie - "Sandy"
(1987-1989) R.I.P.
Skittles will 'vibrate' the side of his beak against my fingernails. It's likely your bird is just using you as a scratchpost.

MikeyTN

Feb 1, 2011
Antioch, TN
Parrots
"Willie"&"Lola"B&G Macaw,
"Dixie"LSC2, and "Nico" Scarlet Macaw.
I feel it's almost like a courting behavior in what they're doing cause the conures I had years ago did the same as these two that I have now is doing it too.

Skittys_Daddy

Jan 6, 2014
Lewiston, Maine
Parrots
Budgie - "Sammy"
(1989-2000) R.I.P.
Budgie - "Sandy"
(1987-1989) R.I.P.