Excited to meet everyone!

SirEdwin89

Mar 5, 2016
Virginia
Parrots
Confetti (9y/o CAG), Ely (5 y/o Citron SC2), Barney (3 y/o MSC2), Baby (21 y/o Senegal), Peaches (16 y/o M2)
Conan (26 y/o Harlequin Macaw)
Hello all! I just wanted to stop in and introduce myself, and my new birdy story. A little background, my name is Chris, I'm located out of Richmond, VA where I live with my wife and 2 beautiful daughters (4, and 8). I've been an animal enthusiast my entire life (much to the chagrin of my parents when i started bringing crazy things home i'm sure!!) I recently acquired a CAG however through, well, slightly unusual (and very much unexpected) means. Rewind to last week, and I get a letter in the mail informing me that I have been named in a will (of a person I've never heard of mind you) and am inheriting her African Grey Confetti (somewhere between 6-9 the attorney and family wasn't sure). I've been doing animal rehabilitation work for about 10 years, and keeping all manner of exotics for about 18. And, while I do all my work privately and through word of mouth, apparently she heard of me from someone who was sure her baby would get a good home coming to me. Here comes the minor catch. About the only animals as a whole I have very little experience with are birds. That said, if someone who didn't know me cared enough about their animal to have me named in their will, it's my obligation to make sure that faith wasn't misplaced. Confetti (our new CAG) however had very little socialization. The owner took what seems like the best care she could of the bird in her old age, however the woman didn't like other people so outside of her, Confetti got almost no other human interaction, and i've got the scars to prove it now haha. So, here come some of my questions. I was hoping someone could help me in locating a source to learn a bit more about grey body language. I know they are naturally incredibly cautious birds, and often tend to distrust new things, and I can only i