Getting a Ringneck! questions!

ninamarie418

Dec 23, 2012
Hello I am new on the forum, well i have been reading a researching for awhile and just recently joined. I had a little budgie when i was younger and my mom had a Quaker, both are sadly gone now. I am wanting to get a Ringneck!! At first i was gonna get a lovebird because of cheaper price and smaller cage, but i just keep reading about the ringnecks and have fallen in love with them. I have found a breeder that is only 15 minutes from my home who has some babies hatching this week! I am hoping for a green or blue one, and prefferably male.
My question is, actually i have several, Does it matter if i get a male or a female? I am a music teacher and will have kids coming into my home to get Guitar lessons, and i am plannin on having my bird on a playstand near to us. Which sex would adapt better to being in that kind of environment? What are the best toys to give IRN's? and how many should i have in his cage....what is the size of cage i should get...i read 24"x24"x36" is this big enough for a baby...eventually i would like to get a way bigger cage. My bird will be $600 is this a normal price? What is the absolute best diet for a ringneck. I have read about the bluffing that they can go through, what is the best way to handle that?....im sure i have more questions...i will think them up!!!:09:
thank you for any answers you can give me!!!

weco

Nov 24, 2010
USA
Parrots
Nanday, suns, parrotlet, Patagonian
Welcome to the forum…there are a lot of people around here, waiting to answer all those questions you are going to think up.

I guess everybody has their own favorites, but male IRNs probably have a better temperament than the females and you don’t have to worry about egg laying & possible egg binding later on.

A well socialized bird should be fun to have around your students. As to toys, IRNs like to chew, so inexpensive toys or even plain blocks of wood and a few foraging toys might be good ideas.