Getting my first ever budgie today.

bpenniman

Mar 31, 2015
Milwaukee, WI
Parrots
Budgie-Lucinda
Blue-Fronted Amazon-Lucy
I am getting my first ever budget today. His name is Packer. I named him that because he is dark green and yellow and I live near Green Bay, WI. I have everything set up for him and I am very excited. I will need to give him some time to adjust.I am wondering if I should feed him kaytee. That's what they feed him at the pet store. Although I've read kayteeis awful. Any good brands? And are treat sticks okay? And I heard they need sand. I know I can buy it at the pet store but what is the purpose of the sand and where and how should I place it in his cage. How much free time out of the cage do buddies need? I had a blue crowned conure who passed away January so I am New to buddies.:greenyellow::greenyellow:

thewandererw

Jan 23, 2015
Hi and welcome first congrats on your new budgie.you do not need sand for your budgie so please don't get it.you also don't need grit so don't get that eather. The best pellets to get are roudybush nibbles, zupreem natural pellet budgie size,lafeber's nutra berries of avie cakies. As for out of cage time, as much time as you can give but at least 2-4 hours a day. Just make sure the room is budgie proof.

linda

Allee

Oct 27, 2013
Media
Texas
Parrots
U2-Poppy(Poppy lives with her new mommy, Misty now) CAG-Jack, YNA, Bingo, Budgie-Piper, Cockatiel-Sweet Pea Quakers-Harry, Sammy, Wilson ***Zeke (quaker) Twinkle (budgie) forever in our hearts
I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your blue crowned conure.

I think you will be very happy with a budgie, they are a delightful species.