Going on vacation?

GFGC

Aug 26, 2015
Hey everyone.
I tried to do some searches on this topic since I'm sure it's come up before, but I didn't have any luck.
My girlfriend and I are CONSIDERING going on a short cruise around Thanksgiving time. We would leave on a Thursday morning and return the next Monday morning. We have done a LOT of traveling in our past (I'm a musician, and last year I was actually on tour for six weeks... but that's a concern for another day!), and really enjoy going on adventures. However, this is our first year with our GCC and his happiness will be the deciding factor here. We got him last month.

I'm looking for some advice here on what the best course of action is when people go on vacation. I know some people refuse to leave their birds EVER, but Jen and I probably can't sign off on that completely for the next 20 years :)

We live in St. Petersburg, FL, and are bird boarding places around, but that worries me. Some only charge $5 a day for bird boarding, and that makes me feel like they fill his bowls and that's it. My girlfriend's brother could potentially come over a couple times a day while we are gone to give him food and some company, but our bird spends hours outside of his cage and we don't think he would be confident in monitoring a loose bird around our apartment. The idea of our little guy in his cage for four days straight makes me very uncomfortable, even when I consider putting the radio and tv and stuff on timers so that he isn't alone in silence. He is handled every day.

Boarders raise new concerns for me, because I feel like he will be in a scary new place with new people and sounds. I feel like he might be terrified for four days and come home with birdie PTSD!

You may remember me from my previous post: "Conure's aggression worse every day. Desperate for help."