Green Cheek afraid of cage

Flapjack

Nov 10, 2023
Parrots
Green cheek conure
Hello! I just recently (about an hour ago) got my first bird! She is a little pineapple green cheek named kure. I have been visiting her for the past two months and finally brought her home today. However she is not very trained in stepping up. She is not afraid of hands but refuses to get off my shoulder or away from me in general. I am trying to get her acclimated to her cage but she freaks out when we get close to it. Other than that she is being super chill. Do any of you have ideas on how to get her to realize the cage is not a threat? I donā€™t intend to lock her in now, I just need to know I have somewhere to put her down :)

*also her cage is very large and one side is against a wall.

Jcas

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month šŸ†
Jan 9, 2023
Parrots
Quaker, 2 budgies
Congratulations on your new bird! Many things are probably scary to your new bird and she has chosen you as her safe place ( what an honor šŸ˜Š) What kind of carrying cage did you use to bring her home and is she comfortable with it? If so, you can keep her in there temporarily as you acclimate her to the big cage. First, is she afraid of the cage or something in it? Pay attention to what sheā€™s looking at and try to determine if there is a toy, perch, picture on the wall, etc. that seems to scare her. If it really is the cage, just take it slowly! With her on your shoulder, walk by the cage frequently, sit down close to it ( but not so closely that she panics) interact with the cage by touching it, putting your hand inside etc. Once she is less scared, try using food/ treats as a lure. You can put her food on top of the cage to start with and then eventually move it in. Be calm and patient and she will eventually learn that the cage is her new home!

OP
Flapjack

Flapjack

Nov 10, 2023
Parrots
Green cheek conure