Greenwing or Military Macaw?

JackTheParrotLover

Feb 13, 2016
Hello everyone, this is my first thread here:09:. I was wondering if anyone could help me decide wether to get a Greenwing or a Military Macaw. I've never owned a bird before but I work with them twice a week as I volunteer at my local aquarium. (Yes, the aquarium has birds) I've been researching for about nine months and have worked with them for four. Unfortunately, the aquarium doesn't have a Military or a Greenwing but they do have a Cockatoo, a Yellow-Naped Amazon, a Catalina macaw, and a B&G. I don't want a B&G as I want a bird that can chill, and not constantly want to play with me. I need both in a bird, calmness and playfulness, and B&Gs and hybrids don't offer me that. I will be getting the bird this summer so I want to start researching breeders now, but I can't do that until I can decide which bird I want. Oh, and there's no place to play with macaws that are for sale near the area that I live in. Thanks ahead of time guys, hopefully you'll be able to help me find the perfect macaw!

Birdman666

Sep 18, 2013
San Antonio, TX
Parrots
Presently have six Greenwing Macaw (17 yo), Red Fronted Macaw (12 yo), Red Lored Amazon (17 y.o.), Lilac Crowned Amazon (about 43 y.o.) and a Congo African Grey (11 y.o.)
Panama Amazon (1 Y.O.)
Militaries can be quite beaky. They'd be the more independent of the two. Militaries can also tend to have "one person" issues... they are one of those species that needs extra socialization.

Greenwings are calm, but they will also want to be handled/with you. My greenwing is pretty close to full on velcro bird.