Grumpy Cockatiel

thatdamnjodie

Feb 19, 2018
Sydney, Australia
Parrots
A 3-4 year old cockatiel named George!
Newbie here! :yellow1:
I need some help with what I guess could be called "re-taming" my bird. For context and history, there's a few paragraphs here. Sorry for that!

I've got a male cockatiel named George who is about 4 years old now. He came to us hand-raised from a breeder and was our first bird. He was out of the cage for a while when we first got him but he'd get frightened a lot so we kept him in there. Over time he didn't step up anymore, and became aggressive with hands and fingers.

With time and patience, I managed to get him a little used to my hands again and let me pet his head. But he hisses and pecks (not too hard, just a warning peck) if my hands go anywhere else but his head. I'm very respectful of his space and don't push my luck.

I left him in my sister's care for about a year due to not being allowed to have pets at my in-laws' house. Unfortunately, she has no bird experience and liked poking fun at him, stirring him up by waving her hands at him. She would talk to him, but neglected to clean his cage and remove rotting vegetables and fruits. There was also no direct sunlight for him to absorb some vitamin D in the house.

Thankfully, I was able to finally bring him home into my care again. I'm taking him to the vet asap to check on his overall health, as I'm worried that he might have a deficiency or illness from living in such gross conditions. Otherwise, he still talks and lets me pet him - but he's almost back to his aggressive habits with hands.

I want to make him trust my hands again. If anyone has experience and/or advice on restoring a bird's trust with hands, or generally how to make them step up again, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Here's a photo of him.
20246127_1641624349181453_3334656079469866152_n.jpg

He's such a beautiful personality, I want to repair the relationship we had together.

Anansi

Staff member