Had a couple questions...

Budgielover14

Oct 2, 2017
Hello! It's my first time posting here so I'll do a bit of an intro. I've been a huge bird enthusiast and had two lovely parakeets when I was ten. I am currently 19 living with my older brother and a one year old black-capped conure I adopted from a gentleman in Kansas City who had to adopt the little guy away when his bonded pair didn't accept him.

I have had a few things come up that I could use help with, and since I've been a part of a few online bird communities before I know how friendly and helpful everyone is!

Chewie (named so partly from my love of Star Wars and his habit of "tasting" just about everything) has recently grown apprehensive towards my hands, I suspect because he does not see them as an extension of my body. He has bitten before, I do not believe from aggression or fear, but it has broken skin before. He is also not comfortable with touch. My question would be how to acclimate him to touch and discourage any biting/really hard nibbling of my hands. I have tried a firm verbal 'No' and that doesn't really work.

I have taught him some rudimentary "tricks" like 'turn-around' and 'wave', I would like to do more, but he no longer seems to like spray millet anymore. Every time I give him some he just grinds it with his beak and lets it fall to the bottom of the cage. He likes individual seeds included in his food mix, should I take those out and use them as a special treat or find something else? What usually works, are there certain treats that all conures usually enjoy, or should I try a bunch of stuff until I find "the one"? Thank you for your help!

Anansi

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 18, 2013
Somerset,NJ
Parrots
Maya (Female Solomon Island eclectus parrot), Jolly (Male Solomon Island eclectus parrot), Bixby (Male, red-sided eclectus. RIP), Suzie (Male cockatiel. RIP)
Hello, and welcome to the Parrot Forums family!