Harlequin vs Catalina

nickis715

Dec 31, 2012
Media
New York
Parrots
*Feathered*
Khaleesi > Green wing macaw. Parrot >Jendai conure Squee> Scaly-breasted lorikeet

*Furry*
Nox > Cane Corso Blaze> chihuahua
Bryci, Lluth, Reyna, Muffy and Gus > Kitties

*RIP* Mal
Hi all! My boyfriend and I were thinking about adding a hybrid to our flock. We are trying to decide between a Harlequin and a Catalina macaw, because we love our GW. Someone had suggested a Harlequin due to the BG's temperament vs a Scarlet's temperament. Any opinions on this would be appreciated! We have a large feathered/furry family and would be getting a baby so that whoever comes in, grows up acclimated to everyone else :)

JerseyWendy

Jul 20, 2012
I have no personal experience with either hybrid, but if I were in the market, I'd take the Harlequin as one of the parents would be a GW, and I LOVE their temperament. :)

BirdBrains2233

Apr 16, 2013
Media
Upstate South Carolina
Parrots
Congo African Grey, Powder Blue Quaker and a Moluccan Too!
I personally have had much better experiences with the Harlequin. The times I have handled a Catalina I have noticed they seem much more aggressive, a bit stronger, and less hesitant to strike. Even though the birds I have worked with are rescues, the Harlequin's seemed to have a much better attitude toward being handled by me compared to the Catalina. Now, dont let my experience deter you from getting one if you choose. Im like all birds if you get one as a baby the experience would be much better. Let us know what ya decide.

horsesculpter

Jun 21, 2012
Texas
Parrots
Catalina Macaw, Sunny