Help, What kind of bird is this?

Gooper

Jul 10, 2012
DSCF0095.jpg
Hi, Im new to bird ownership, I have always wanted one and now living on my own i can have one. Anyways my neighbor gave me this bird (he has another bird and they dont get along). He wasnt sure what type of bird it is. Does anyone know?
DSCF0097.jpg

Didomum

Jul 9, 2012
Parrots
2 Quakers, 1 ring neck and 4 budgies. Baby Eclectus due sept 2012
Looks like a female Indian ring neck to me. A lot like my sammy. You can tell the male from the female by the ring light green normally means a female. Black or dark brown for male.
Very pretty she is.

OP
G

Gooper

Jul 10, 2012
thanks everyone :) this seems like a great site, Any tips for a new owner?

OP
G

Gooper

Jul 10, 2012
she seems to nip when you put a hand near the cage, i just got her and wasnt sure if i should remove her from the cage yet, not sure if i should leave her be for a bit to get use to the new house?

paulhanlon

Banned
Banned
Jun 10, 2012
Media
Newton aycliffe Co.Durham
Parrots
Jinx - Blue Fronted Amazon hatched 12.06.2012
Try sitting next to her cage and read a book to her or sing to her and give her some treats to show you are not there to hurt her its just a matter of time you need to gain her trust first and this will take some time

paulhanlon

Banned
Banned
Jun 10, 2012
Media
Newton aycliffe Co.Durham
Parrots
Jinx - Blue Fronted Amazon hatched 12.06.2012
Try monkey nuts sunflower seeds or millet spray if your going to give her sunflower seeds put them in her bowl but dont give her alot as sunflower seeds are bad for the health of your parrot just stick a few in a day and remember sit next to her cage talk and sing to her and eventually you will start to gain her trust move at her pace not yours and she will step up onto you when she is ready hope i helped you and i hope you too become the best of friends :)

ann

Feb 18, 2011
USA
Parrots