Keeping a GCC entertained with a friend?

JonnyG

Jan 11, 2012
Persie, my GCC, is a happy little guy, 6 months old now, he loves to be out and involved with people, thats all good. What im wondering/debating about is getting him a friend. The reason is that I work 5 days a week and usually will be out 1 day at the weekend. He still gets a good few hours a day out his cage (pretty much all evening every day) and most the day at the weekend but during the week days no one is at home so hes left with the telly on. I have been bringing him into work where he sits in a cage in the office but not every day as I work in a garage and there are lots of loud noises during the day. He doesn't seem to be scared or anything but I do wonder at times...

Anyway, I would like to get him a friend, someone for him to talk to and play with (eventually). I know that he may start to prefer avian friends and I know its double the work to look after 2 birds but I cant help thinking he would prefer a birdy friend so was wondering what people opinions and experiences are? I would like a cockatiel as they are pretty birds but will they get on with a GCC? Would another conure be best, maybe a sun? Or does anyone suggest another breed?

Just for reference these are the 2 cages, first is his home, 2nd is the daytime cage. If I got another I would use the 2nd cage at home depending on what breed.

418038_10150559375427374_634503960_n.jpg

529426_10150893870492374_1327441604_n.jpg

I hope to have a garden aviary built soon so would be nice if they could get on together so they can join us in the garden, they will still live inside, the aviary would be to have them in whilst in the garden (i only have a small garden so they would feel included).

Cheers for any advice

Jon

Last edited:

cdog

Feb 20, 2012
Newbury Park, CA
Parrots
Sully-2 year old cinnamon and Bella-3 year old normal