Military or Blue and Gold?

jkirby

Jun 29, 2011
First I want to start off by saying I Know there is already a post on here with this question but almost all of the reply's were directed to age and I am not a youngster so I need honest advice lol.

My wife and I are in our early 30's and our youngest kid is 16 (today as a matter of fact) and we cannot have any more kids (We started early lol). Anyhow I have recently became disabled due to seizures and I am looking into getting a Macaw to keep me company during the day and to stop me from plucking my hair out :).

Anyhow here is the thing. Before becoming disabled I was a professional clown in the Salt Lake Valley and now I only do very few clowning events such as fundraisers, charity events and some local school fundraisers. The reason I share this with you is because I want my bird to be able to go with me and not get stressed out around others to easily (I have done tons of research and find some types like the African Grey stress easier then others).

What I want in a bird:
I want my companion to be playful, clowny, fun, cuddly, cute, family bird, smart, easy to train (I know it needs to be done correctly).
I would like my bird to possibly (If he/she doesn't its not a big deal to me) help me with a performance here or there such as a trick or maybe talking. I think this would help with the bonding process having him/her with me at all my events and it would help socialize him/her even more.

I would appreciate any and all advice including video's, pictures and websites to do even more research. We have made this decision in almost a year of talking and researching as we know its a HUGE Lifelong commitment and we want to make sure we do it right the first time. We have already read Parrots for Dummies, The Parrot and The Parrot Companion.