My African grey prefers to be on the ground

tbg299

Feb 24, 2014
Hello I recently adopted an adult male grey who is a ground bird , as he prefers to stroll around my house and go exploring rather than be content to perch up high. I have a metal playstand with toys to transport him around the house with me during the day, but he insists on diving to the ground. He as also dived off the top of his cage several times which resulted in cuts on his keelbone. Fortunately they were minor but I need to prevent him from seriously hurting himself while outside of the cage in the future. My vet agreed that the most logical thing to do is to keep him low to the ground for interacting and playtime. Is this behavior common in greys? This is my first time owning one and I have never had a bird who is like this. I am planning to set up a play gym in the living room where his cage is to put on the ground or on the coffee table which is close to the ground. I also have yoga mats to place around his cage and play area . Any suggestions are appreciated

RavensGryf

Supporting Member
Jan 19, 2014
College Station, Texas
Parrots
Red Bellied Parrot /
Ruppell's Parrot /
Bronze Winged Pionus /
English Budgie
I'm not sure about Greys, but some species naturally do go on the ground a lot such as Australian parakeet species and Aussie Cockatoos for example.

Just make sure you (and everyone if you don't live alone) are conscious at all times when the bird is out to make sure not to step on him!

That is the reason I discourage the birds from going on the ground. It's too dangerous, especially when they're not large and flashy like a large macaw.

Birdman666

Sep 18, 2013
San Antonio, TX
Parrots
Presently have six Greenwing Macaw (17 yo), Red Fronted Macaw (12 yo), Red Lored Amazon (17 y.o.), Lilac Crowned Amazon (about 43 y.o.) and a Congo African Grey (11 y.o.)
Panama Amazon (1 Y.O.)
:D So does mine. In the wild they are ground feeders. Like pigeons! :D