Nature scape bird cage setup

Francie Pants

Jul 21, 2023
Parrots
Yellow Sided Green Cheek
Hello all!
I am a new bird owner (GC Conure) and would like to pick your brains about cage set ups. As I am new to this I may be out of line, so please be kind as I learn.

I am always drawn to situations which are closer to what a pet would experience in nature (below the post is a picture of my planted aquarium if that gives you an idea). I love the idea of this for birds, with the thought that it would be more homey for both of us. I cannot find any examples of this and perhaps for good reason? The cage is setup with all the toys and perches, but I am wondering what I can do outside of natural looking branches vs the perch rods. I understand that any plants would need to be bird safe and would likely get shredded. I was thinking of having silk or plastic plants surround the cage (not inside) would be better, but I worry about the potential of ingestion via munching while the bird is out. She/he does love to chew on our clothes but has not torn or eaten anything yet.

Does anyone have a cage setup like this or have seen anything similar? Is this a terrible idea? Of course the bird being happy and stimulated is the most important thing.

IMG_7269.JPG

Keet_Krazy

Feb 19, 2023
Parrots
Budgies:
Obsidian (M), Snowflake (F), Sunbeam (F), Emelia (F, English), Alinta (F, Bush), Mahlee (M, Bush), Moonstone (M)
Galah:
Quarter (Not DNA'd)
Other:
Quail and Chickens
I'll be back to reply a bit later :).

Keet_Krazy

Feb 19, 2023
Parrots
Budgies:
Obsidian (M), Snowflake (F), Sunbeam (F), Emelia (F, English), Alinta (F, Bush), Mahlee (M, Bush), Moonstone (M)
Galah:
Quarter (Not DNA'd)
Other:
Quail and Chickens
I've seen people with softbills (finches, canaries, etc.) use fake plants but I wouldn't use them with parrots for the reasons you mentioned, chewing and eating can result in crop impaction.