New GCC owner

KennyLe

Dec 9, 2011
Hey guys, My name is Kenny, I'm 21 years old and I reside in Arlington, Texas(DFW) and I'm new to the forums.

So I recently got a yellow sided green cheek conure (or so i think) that I've decided well my girlfriend to name Apple due to the fact that its previous owner got evicted from the apartment complex and nobody would take the bird. I use to own a couple of cockatiels and lovebirds when i was younger but other than they I have no experience with conures. I was seeking some answers for some of the questions I was having.

1. I don't know his/her age. Apple does however have a blue band on her left leg that has i believe her breeders initials and a number.

2.I can't tell the difference between yellow sided and pineapple. I read on here before that pineapples have lighter beaks and lighter heads. So her beak is a light tan color but her head is grey'ish

3.She is currently molting right now and I don't know how long this process will last and most of apple's maroon colored tail feathers are either damaged or gone. She only has about 2-3 left. Will they grow back?

4.Apple seems to be horrified of me. Ive had her for a about 2 weeks now and I've tried to just sit there and interact with her but whenever anyone including me comes near the cage she just goes chaotic. I tried getting her out once and after that she just stayed on my shoulder with no nibbling whatsoever. What can I do to tame her?

I'm pretty sure I have alot more questions but I'll save that for my next post. Thanks alot for taking the time to read my introduction and my silly questions.

On a side note. I'll try to upload pictures of Apple as soon as I can.

roxynoodle

Dec 1, 2011
Hi Kenny, welcome to the forum!

Read the thread here called New Owner for good suggestions on how to start interacting with your new feather baby.

kitt

Mar 27, 2011
Michigan
Parrots
Ava(peach faced lovebird) and my very first bird
Leroy (black headed caique) my little moody bird