New Here? Whats My Parrot's Breed?

ParrotBlue

Aug 3, 2014

kq_fan

Jun 26, 2013
Media
Seattle, Washington
Parrots
Lilo - Female Green Cheek Conure ~ Pal - male cockatiel ~ Pheobe - female cockatiel
I think its a female Indian ringneck parakeet! Very cute too! Its a female because it has no ring or its a very young male.

4dugnlee

Apr 27, 2014
Ohio
Parrots
Sassy - 13 y.o. Blue Front Amazon, Cisco - 6 y.o. Sun Conure, Peanut - 8 y.o. U2
Fred - 2(?) y.o. Cockatiel, Ginger - 3 or 4(?) y.o. Cockatiel
I agree..indian ringneck..of course I'm no expert. Where did you get it that they did not know the breed/species? Do you know how old it is suppose to be or any other info? You will find all kinds of help on this forum! Congrats on your new bird...she's very pretty!

Terry57

Staff member
Super Moderator
Nov 6, 2013
Media
Albums
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Parrots
Hawkhead(Darwin),YCA(Dexter),VE (Ekko),OWA(Slater),BHP(Talli),DYH(Calypso),RLA(Kimera),Alex(Xander)CBC(Phoe),IRN (Kodee,Luna,Stevie),WCP (Pisces),CAG(Justice)GCC (Jax), GSC2(Charley)
She is quite beautiful! Did someone give her to you?
Is that her cage she is in in the pictures, or just a travel cage?

OP
P

ParrotBlue

Aug 3, 2014
thank you? and what ring are you talking about?

how would i tell if she's a Indian Ring Neck or African Ring Neck?

s/he was a gift and that was the Travel Cage she came in...

i don't know anything about her since she was a gift :(

RavensGryf

Supporting Member
Jan 19, 2014
College Station, Texas
Parrots
Red Bellied Parrot /
Ruppell's Parrot /
Bronze Winged Pionus /
English Budgie
It's an Indian Ringneck. Africans are more rarely seen, and they have a blackish plum color beak. They're smaller, but in this case nothing to compare to.

Also when referring to the kind of parrot, it's "species" not "breed".