Newbie here! Help with Green Cheek Conure needed! :)

conuremommy

May 30, 2014
Media
Fullerton CA
Parrots
Green Cheeked Conure
Hello everyone! I am a new mommy to a Green Cheek Conure, Boris, who I rescued around four months ago. He is a sweetheart despite being neglected by his previous owner. He seems to only prefer my company - he will tolerate most other people but WILL NOT let my husband come near me. He bites him and then laughs at him. No joke! Boris has always been very cuddly with me and was always very eager for me to get him out of the cage. However, just recently, he will come to the door of his cage when I open it but will not step onto my finger as he usually would, for me to pick him up. It's not that he doesn't want to come out, because if I walk away or close the cage, he screams for me and starts to wolfwhistle (his call for me!) Does anyone know what this is about? I'll be honest, it hurts my feelings!
There's only one thing that I can link it to - one night recently, I yelled at my husband in the same room that Boris is in. Whilst I was yelling, Boris started to chirp and move around his cage as though he was scared. I stopped immediately and comforted him, but I'm pretty sure that was the night that he stopped stepping up onto my hand.
His behavior with me hasn't changed - still cuddly and wants to be sat on my shoulder - it's just getting him out of the cage that is the issue.
Does anyone have any suggestions? I feel terrible thinking that I have frightened my boy, and I would love to know how I can make it right :)

Sterling1113

Feb 15, 2014
Dallas area, Texas
Hello, and welcome!!! :) conures are a joy, aren't they?
How old is he? He may be somewhat hormonal this time of year, which can cause minor or severe attitude changes.
Although it does seem likely he's just a tad bit nervous after seeing his precious mommy get mad! Even if it wasn't toward him.