Newbie here- Thinking about buying a B&G Macaw, need some advice

DAROCK

Aug 2, 2010
South Ozone Park,NY
Parrots
3 year old Blue and Gold Macaw- Elvis
Hello everyone, hope all is well. I was recommend to this wonderful site,by a customer of mine. About me, I'm a 30 year old male,self-employed, I work Mon-Fri 7am- 5pm. My experience with birds, I had some parakeets for about 4 plus years and a cockatiel for 2 years. So yesterday, I went to Parrots of the World in Long Island,NY and I fell in love with the B&G Macaws. So I decided to join the forums and interact with you guys, to decide if a B&G is for me. As for questions, I understand they need a big cage and I have the room for one. If I were to get one, he/she would be in my basement with no big temperature fluctuations,only gets a little hot in the summertime. As for time, I work Mon-Fri 7am 5-pm, so I was thinking of letting him out of the cage as soon as I get home and let him roam around the basement. I was wondering if I need to let him out of the cage everyday -? I also would like to know how loud to they get-? Do they scream all the time-? So basically I'm trying to find out if a B&G Macaw is for me. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you :)

antoinette

Supporting Member
Jul 6, 2009
Media
Sunny South Africa !!!
Parrots
African "Grey"
"Mishka"
Male
7 Years old
Welcome to our friendly forum, great members "bird crazy" actually LoL
Browse around, many interesting posts.
Sure many members with Macaw's will give you great advise.
Good luck

Aussie Ben

Jun 8, 2010
Media
South Australia
Welcome to the forum, this is a great community and you have come to the right place.