perch size to small?

dreamin_sqaw

Oct 19, 2013
Media
dreamin_sqaw-albums-sammy-photo-s-picture9987-mad-vacuum.jpg

This is the best pic I could get showing him on the perch. My question is this...........
Is this perch to small? this is what was in his cage when I got him and this is the one he sleeps on too. it just looks like his feet wrap all the way around to the point that his toes coming up behind him, if that makes any sense, hard to explain.... it is probably an inch in diameter. As you all know by now, Sammy is my first bird so I am still learning. I am not how sure his feet are suppose to circle the perch. all the way or should they not be allowed to wrap completely?

Also, I would like to make him a play stand. how should the perch sizes be ? all different sizes or all the same?

thanks

Calace

May 16, 2013
Newcastle, Australia
Parrots
GCC- Ollie 3.9.13.
Cockatiels- RIP Charlie 2012, Zac 2006.
The perch does look a little small to me. However, I would steer completely away from the dowel perches and opt instead for a natural wooden perch, rope perch, calcium perch etc. In fact you are best off providing several perches that vary in texture and diameter. That is the best for the health of your bird's feet! :)

MikeyTN

Feb 1, 2011
Antioch, TN
Parrots
"Willie"&"Lola"B&G Macaw,
"Dixie"LSC2, and "Nico" Scarlet Macaw.
That perch is too small, you are correct! If you can get ahold of some dragon wood perches, they're wonderful!!!

JerseyWendy

Jul 20, 2012
I agree that the perch is too small, and I also agree with steering clear of dowels as they can easily create pressure spots.

You can quite easily make your own playstand with PVC and various natural perches with different diameters and textures.

My Amazons have perches ranging from 1.5'' up to 3".

Here are some ideas on DIY playstands (they are for macaws, but you could quite easily do the same for your zon, just use smaller sizes)