Playtop or Dome (Senegal Baby)

rbreck

Feb 14, 2013
Simi Valley, California USA
Parrots
Baby Senegal - not yet home
Hello All, I will be taking home my new baby in about 4 weeks. I am currently looking at cages. I am new to Poicephalus parrots, I think I am in for a real treat. I am opened to either of these cages - looking at 20 x 28 (give or take a little). I just wanted to ask if playtops contribute to cage aggression? I have a new tabletop play perch. I don't know why I am feeling the dome is a better choice? I want him/her to have the best.

Also, any feeling on bar space? Can I work with either 1/2 o4 5/8?

Thanks,
Robin

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon
Hello All, I will be taking home my new baby in about 4 weeks. I am currently looking at cages. I am new to Poicephalus parrots, I think I am in for a real treat. I am opened to either of these cages - looking at 20 x 28 (give or take a little). I just wanted to ask if playtops contribute to cage aggression? I have a new tabletop play perch. I don't know why I am feeling the dome is a better choice? I want him/her to have the best.

Also, any feeling on bar space? Can I work with either 1/2 o4 5/8?

Thanks,
Robin

Dome tops are for looks and provide the Parrot no additional room. It is more important to have a full heigh door on the cage to make it easy for you to access the cage, to clean, re-arange, switch out food and water, etc..

Play tops provide additional usable space. Cage aggression or play top aggressions has little to do with the cage or play top and more to do with the interaction between you and the Parrot.

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots
Yellow Shoulder Amazon, Salty