Question - hand-feeding baby sun conure

elliehk

Jun 14, 2015
This is my first time posting on the forum, so i apologize if I make any mistakes!

I just brought home a baby sun conure (hatched mid-June) from a breeder a couple days ago, and she still needs to be hand-fed formula 3 times a day. The breeder showed me how to do it, but I'm still over-the-top nervous about pretty much taking control of her life like this. She's been very distracted when I go to feed her and has only been eating about 1-1.5 syringes full of formula at each feeding, as opposed to the 2 she would take from the breeder. I don't know how to tell if it's because I'm nervous and she can sense that, or if she's weaning onto her solid food, or if she just doesn't trust me yet.
I weighed her this morning and she was 106g. I'm going to keep an eye on her weight to at least make sure she's not losing.
Long story short, this is my question. Should I just be more firm with her when hand-feeding? Or do you think she's just trying to tell me she doesn't need it?
I'm so scared to mess this up. I know hand-feeding is a really important part of parrots' lives and I'm trying my best to do it right... I just feel a little clueless right now. :confused:
Thank you!

SilverSage

Sep 14, 2013
Columbus, GA
Parrots
Eclectus, CAG, BH Pionus, Maximilian’s Pionus, Quakers, Indian Ringnecks, Green Cheeked Conures, Black Capped Conures, Cockatiels, Lovebirds, Budgies, Canaries, Diamond Doves, Zebra Finches, Society F
How old is she? What temp are you feeding the formula?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MonicaMc

Sep 12, 2012
Media
Parrots
Mitred Conure - Charlie 1994;
Cockatiel - Casey 2001;
Wild Caught ARN - Sylphie 2013
My advice? If you aren't sure what you are doing, then take her back to the breeder. Have the breeder finish hand-raising and weaning her. DO NOT take her home until she's been weaned for *AT LEAST* two weeks, if not longer.