Teaching him to play?

JBassset

Oct 18, 2016
Boise
Parrots
3 year old GC Conure
13 year old B&G Macaw
Hiya all.

If you haven't seen my thread in the welcome area I've just been on the receiving end of a rehomed 3 year old GCC named Stephen.

Currently he doesn't seem to play with any toys at all but his ping pong ball. (He loves ping pong balls.)

He loves to cuddle and ride on shoulders but games and toys seem to be new to him and he pays them exactly ZERO attention.

Any suggestions on things to help stimulate this little bugger while I'm at work or otherwise occupied?

Also, anyone ever heard of a GCC with a gray tail? I'm no bird expert but all the descriptions suggest red or maroon tail feathers and similar colored bellies. His tail is gray and his belly is light yellow with maybe a hint of orange. I'm assuming he's just a weird variant or a mix of two different species but I figured I'd ask smarter people than me.

Allee

Oct 27, 2013
Media
Texas
Parrots
U2-Poppy(Poppy lives with her new mommy, Misty now) CAG-Jack, YNA, Bingo, Budgie-Piper, Cockatiel-Sweet Pea Quakers-Harry, Sammy, Wilson ***Zeke (quaker) Twinkle (budgie) forever in our hearts
You are probably right, toys may be brand new to Stephen, he may not know what to do with them. Even birds familiar with toys will often avoid new ones until they are certain the toy doesn't intend to eat them. If he likes ping pong balls, he may like hanging toys with wicker or whiffle balls. Given time, he will more than likely make friends with the toys you've provided. Sometimes if your bird sees you playing with the toy, curiosity will get the better of him.

If you could post photos of Stephen, some of our GCC parronts would probably be able to help you identify the mutation.

OP
JBassset

JBassset

Oct 18, 2016
Boise
Parrots
3 year old GC Conure
13 year old B&G Macaw
Yeah I need to post a photo or two.