The post I dreaded making...

labell

Feb 17, 2014
East
This is partly about my flock but also off topic relating to my personal health. This year has been hands down the worst year of my life for frequent ambulance rides to the ER and life threatening episodes.

First I want to say that I know there are people who may judge me and that is your right to do if that's how you feel I respect that. I will ask you to consider unless you have had asthma know someone who does or been water boarded that you try to understand the choices I was forced to make.

I have known that cockatoos and truly powder down birds were too much for my asthma, I can't have shedding dogs, and I can't have cats at all. There are types of food that I love that I cannot eat. I am an artist who loves to work in oil paints and do that completely solvent free to take into account my very sensitive lungs. My issues with my breathing really started in my late 30s I am now almost 50. Truthfully, much of it may have been exposure to parrot dust and not wearing any mask protection for so many years when I worked for my breeder friend, she was older and I did all the cleaning and maintenance of the space. Even after I began my career in social work I helped her out. After that for years I continued to do re-hab, hand feeding and fostering/boarding. Why this so adversely effected my lungs and doesn't with others working with parrots I don't know. I have had to realize my limits and live within them. Eclectus have never bothered me at all of course because they really don't produce any dust so I have pretty much stuck with them and I adore them.