timneh grey vs Quaker

justinlm24

Jul 6, 2012
Trenton, OH
Parrots
Eclectus (Jazmine)
African grey Congo (charlie)
I am new here, so hello everyone. My name is Justin and I am about to embark into the world of parrothood. I have been doing my research on different species for the past two months and I have narrowed it down to either a timneh grey or Quaker parrot. I am sure you guys here this asked quite often, but which do you think is the better choice? First let me explain my situation so you can have a better idea. I have owned birds in the past, budgies and a sun conure. Only reason I gave them up was bc my now ex wife didn't like them. I understand the time, money, and commitment needed for the two species I am deciding between. I do work, but will still be able to provide at least 3-4 hours of out of cage time. Likely more, especially on my days off. I do have three kids and a dog in the household so that kind of works against getting a grey since they like a more quiet, calm environment. However they do not live with me full time, only half the time so it will not always be hectic. I am buying this bird for me, I am not buying it for the kids and I don't really think they will be that interested in it except for maybe my 6 and 12 year old. I will be the primary handler but i would like a bird who will tolerate everyone. I will make sure to socialize it with everyone early and often as well. So what do you guys think? I am really torn between the two. Each seems to have its pros and cons. It'll still be a couple more months until I bring one home so I will continue my research before making a choice. Honest thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!!!

cdog

Feb 20, 2012
Newbury Park, CA
Parrots
Sully-2 year old cinnamon and Bella-3 year old normal
breeding pair of gcc, Scooter & BeeBee-Sully and Bella's normal son's, Rosey- Bella and Sully's cinnamon daughter, Ella & Sunny-American budgies
Welcome to the forum.